Fermi Project Matador: power and evidence
A private-grid campus with a roughly 6,000 MW gas-generation permit scope, a larger 17 GW development ambition and a separately defined first customer lease.
Texas project research · Source-linked changes
What is established?
Fermi America / Fermi Inc. · Carson County, Texas
~6,000 MW permitted project scope; 17 GW planned campus
Evidence basis: Regulator technical review and registry; operator commercial reports. Sources checked .
| Field | Source-linked finding | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Legal applicant and identity | Fermi Equipment Holdco, LLC; RN112258678; Carson County | TCEQ construction-permit technical review, project 396274 |
| Air authorization scope | 181009 / PSDTX1670 / GHGPSDTX254; approximately 6,000 MW nominal project generation | TCEQ construction-permit technical review, project 396274 |
| Turbines in the technical review | 90 Siemens SGT-800 combustion turbines, three GE Frame 6001/6B combustion turbines and 15 steam turbines | TCEQ construction-permit technical review, project 396274 |
| Use of generated electricity | Onsite hyperscale computing; technical review says no sale to the local utility distribution system | TCEQ construction-permit technical review, project 396274 |
| First customer phase, as announced | 222 MW total facility power for TensorWave; phased delivery beginning in the second half of 2027 | Fermi announces TensorWave lease |
| Equipment arrival, as reported | Three GE Vernova 6B turbines arrived at the campus; operation is not established by arrival | Fermi reports arrival of three GE Vernova 6B turbines |
How to interpret the record
Matador is a project where the capacity boundary matters. The roughly 6,000 MW gas project in the TCEQ review and the operator's 17 GW campus plan describe different scopes. Neither is a measurement of electricity currently delivered to computing.
The review describes ninety 56 MW gross-nominal SGT-800 combustion turbines and three 45 MW gross-nominal GE 6B turbines, with steam generation in the combined-cycle configuration. Adding combustion-turbine ratings alone will not reproduce the whole-plant nominal figure. Keep the review's plant boundary with its number.
Fermi's first customer announcement gives a more specific commercial boundary: 222 MW of total facility power, with delivery beginning in the second half of 2027. Expansion rights beyond 650 MW are options. The announcement also states guaranty and financing conditions; these details matter when qualifying a delivery schedule.
What remains unknown?
- Current net generation and delivered IT power
- Commissioning and acceptance dates for each turbine block
- Fulfilment of the lease's financing and guaranty conditions
- Final scope and issuance of the separately listed East Campus applications
What to check next
- Track permit numbers and RN112258678 together; do not merge East Campus applications with issued authorizations.
- Look for commissioning or operating records after equipment-delivery reports.
- Compare future customer updates against the 222 MW phase and stated delivery conditions.
A documented project participant or equipment model is a research lead, not proof that procurement is open. Scope a monitoring pilot around the specific records and decisions you need.
Sources and dates
- TCEQ construction-permit technical review, project 396274 · 2026-02-25
Regulator technical review · pp. 1, 4–7, 9 - TCEQ Permit Search: permit 181009 · Source date not stated in reviewed text
Live registry snapshot checked October 27, 2026 - Fermi announces TensorWave lease · 2026-08-10
Operator investor announcement; contractual conditions remain - Fermi reports arrival of three GE Vernova 6B turbines · Source date not stated in reviewed text
Operator equipment report; source page has no explicit date in the reviewed text
Reviewed sources are a dated selection, not a comprehensive search of every filing. Checking a page today does not make its older schedule or physical-status claims current. See automated source coverage.
Questions about this project
Is Matador operating at 17 GW?
The reviewed sources do not establish that. The 17 GW figure is the operator's development plan; the TCEQ review has a smaller gas-generation project scope.
Does arrival of a turbine establish available power?
No. The operator's arrival report is equipment evidence. Installation, commissioning and operation require separate records.